Media Alert 11th March


Tomorrow – Thursday 11th March 2010

‘Vote for a Safe Climate’ Public Forum

When: Tomorrow, Thursday 11th March – 6.30pm

Where: Stanley Burbury Lecture Theatre, UTAS, Churchill Ave, Sandy Bay.

What: Tasmanian political parties go head to head on their climate credentials in the lead up to the state election.

Speakers: Lisa Singh MP, Tasmanian Labor Party; Vanessa Goodwin MLC, Tasmanian Liberal Party; Cassy O’Connor MP, Tasmanian Greens; Melanie Barnes, Socialist Alliance state election candidate.

This forum is a joint initiative of Climate Action Hobart (CAH) and Environment Tasmania (ET) and will be chaired by climate change commentator Peter Boyer.

Speakers have been asked to outline their party’s climate policies, announce any new climate change mitigation policies and respond to an analysis of their current climate policies presented by CAH. This analysis is in the form of a ‘Safe Climate Scorecard’ which rates the parties’ policies as compared to the benchmarks set out in CAH’s Ten Steps to a Safe Climate - Tasmania's contribution to preventing dangerous climate change. The Scorecard will be launched at the forum and letterboxed to households in the Denison electorate before the state election.

Climate Action Hobart is a grassroots climate action group formed in March 2009 to promote community involvement in achieving strong climate policy in Tasmania. Environment Tasmania is Tasmania’s conservation council, an umbrella body that represents 21 Tasmanian conservation groups, with collective representation of over 6000 Tasmanians.

Contact: Phil Harrington, Climate Action Hobart 0419 106 449 Jess Wright, Environment Tasmania 0428 274 280